What can anyone tell me about San Jos? de Ocoa?

Aug 6, 2006
I am a retired Spanish professor and as familiar as five trips to the DR and four years' marriage to a woman from Santiago can make me, and I am looking for a relatively cool and calm place to perhaps meet a girl, dance and see the sights with. I like Dominicans, especially las morenitas, and they tend to like me. I have been told that I am lots more fun than the local guys, but of course, I tend to let them flirt with me before I flirt back, because that seems to work out better.

I like the mountains and fresh water and think that perhaps a place like San Jos? might be a better choice than other places I have been, such as la capital, Santiago, POP and Las Terranas. I spent some time in Sosua and thought it to be too commercialized and too frenetic.

Any thoughts will be most welcome. Gracias, 'chas gracias, muy amables.

the gorgon

Platinum
Sep 16, 2010
if your preference is morenas, you might want to try San Juan de la Maguana if you do make it to Ocoa. been to Ocoa, and liked it very much.

Aug 6, 2006
Several years ago, I was in San Juan de la Magana. I might try that as well.
I am not looking for packs, herds or coveys of chicas, just one. Never more than one at a time.

Thanks.

puryear270

Bronze
Aug 26, 2009
Ocoa is a nice town. Are you looking for a woman for a relationship or just for a nice evening or two? Ocoa is accustomed to having Canadians visiting for mission and education trips, and they warm up to visitors quickly. There is an express bus that leaves from Independence Park in the capital every 30 minutes. To meet a woman, sit in the park or at a colmado close to the park. Not sure about accomodations there, and restaurants are traditional Dominican fare, from what I've ever found there.

I also like Palmar de Ocoa, which is actually in Azua Province. It's by the ocean. It's a good place to get seafood and cold beer.

If mountains are what you want, Jarabacoa is also great.

the gorgon