American needing a job...

wilson1

Feb 8, 2010
I apologize if this is a repeat post (as I tried to find a recent post to avail). I am an American that plans to relocate to the Santo Domingo area in the next few months. I have a college degree in Journalism/Public Relations from an American University. I do not know Spanish. I am looking for work in the capital and understand that there is a need for English teachers/tutors. Does anyone know of any leads or contacts I can make to see about available positions? I do not have a teaching certificate. Any suggestions would be most helpful. Thank you.

abe

Jan 2, 2002
Think again

To perhaps spare you the agony of reading dozens of replies, you probably ought to just rethink the whole idea of moving to the DR until you have Spanish skills and a war chest. There are thousands of bilingual Dominicans and others who can teach English. Unless you really are an exceptional human being, and I am not doubting that, you aren't ready yet to do what you are inquiring about.

You can do a search of these posts and find uncountable requests similar to yours.

A spirit of adventure is a very valuable thing, but it must be tempered with reality.

Good luck.

wilson1

Feb 8, 2010
Thanks, Abe. I appreciate the quick response. I am not heart set on teaching English. I was just under the impression that it was a valued skill set. I would be open to any position that would utilize my college degree. Unfortunately I have hefty student loans I need to pay back and am not able to reconsider moving to the DR (as I am moving for personal family reasons). Any additional insight from anyone would be greatly appreciated

Feb 7, 2007
I don't think any DR salary, unless exceptionally high, will be enough for you to live on and pay back your US student loans as well ...

wilson1

Feb 8, 2010