Solar PV Research

DRod

Mar 3, 2010
Saludos,

I am a student of the University of California Berkeley, and I am looking to gather further information for research I am engaged in regarding solar photovoltaic technology in the DR. I am in search of reputable data sources of the country's energy production, GIS data with power grid overlays, and other relevant and correlated data. La Superintendencia de Electricidad has proven to be a good source for baseline figures; however, I would like to diversify my sources. In addition, any cost structures of local PV companies and projects would also be a great help.

Thank you,

David Rodr?guez

Tom F.

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
Soluz is still around. His focus has been on stand alone systems off the grid.

There have been some fairly large systems for community water pumping.

Last edited:
May 29, 2006
When I met him, he was doing panels for rural stores where there was no electic at all. The store could have lights to sell goods and run a sound system. Before that, everything closed up as soon as it got dark. The production area was on the north coast near Sosua in a area called Bella Vista.

arg1118

Mar 11, 2010
Just curious

What type of research are you conducting in the DR?
Is it regarding commercial viability of solar in the DR?

thanks.

May 29, 2006
I don't know if it still exists, but in rural areas some years ago people would run their entire electric off off a single car battery. Then they would bring it in to a gas station to recharge it every few weeks.

Personally I think very low wattage systems using a hand crank are a lot more cost effective than solar. For under $15, you can get a LED light and radio with a hand crank. Cranking it for about two minutes powers it for about an hour.

Tom F.

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002