An Afterschool/Weekend Learning Center

Charles Lowman

Mar 14, 2010
www.starquesteducation.com
Hello,
After researching and considering many factors, I've narrowed it down to either Belize or the Dominican Republic as the country I want to immigrate to within the next 12-18 months. For the past 15 years, I have been a full-time teacher of middle and high school science, math, and computer courses (Microsoft Office Suite, Adobe Dreamweaver, Flash & Photoshop) here in the U.S. Recently, I've scaled back my classroom instruction to only part-time hours while developing my own after school tutoring and academic enrichment service. I prefer the flexibility and targeted instruction of a supplemental education provider (SEP) over spending all day in the classroom. Consequentially, I've decided to focus on developing a SEP business that would generate a modest income while offering 4th-12th grade students and their parents the following services:
  • specialized after school and weekend tutoring (reading, math & science)
  • PSAT/SAT preparation courses
  • Robotics classes
  • computer graphics, animation & web design
  • Internet radio/tv broadcasting training
In a best case scenario, I'd either lease a building or office space (or rent space within a school, community center or church facility) located in a secure area that has high speed internet access, and is easily accessible to the families that I would be serving,

Another possibility would be to contract my services to schools (public or private) as a vendor.

• What is the viability of an enterprise as I'm proposing in the DR?
  • What are its limitations and/or liabilities?
  • Are there funding sources (government or private) that subsidize families who can't afford to pay vendors for tutoring services?
Any tips, advice, or constructive criticism is most appreciated.

MaineGirl

The Way Life Should Be...
Jun 23, 2002
amity.beane.org