Practicing US Lawyer Moving to D.R. ???

atoribio

Apr 16, 2010
I just found this forum and hope that I can get some guidance. I am an attorney at a major law firm in the U.S. I have been practicing law since 2005 and licensed to practice in New York, Connecticut, and Maine. I was born in the Dominican, but educated here in the States. Now I am exploring the possibility of moving back to the D.R. and practice law there. My questions are:

1. As a foreign educated attorney, will I be required to obtain a law degree from a Dominican university?

2. If the answer to the above is yes, then what degree will I need? How many years will it take to obtain such degree? Could I practice law while obtaining such degree?

3. Aside from a degree, if any, are there any other requirements that I will need to meet?

4. How can I get admitted to the "Colegio de Abogados"? Do I need?

5. Assuming I do everything necessary to be able to practice law in the D.R., what are the job prospects?

6. I would be interested in joining a large law firm as an associate: how difficult are such jobs to come by? How can I go after such jobs?

7. Any ideas what associates at large firm make in terms of salary? I doubt I could make the same I am making now, about $150,000 a year, but I want an idea of what kind of salary to expect.

I know these are many questions and don't expect answers to all. Thank you all in advance for you help. Thanks.

JFD

Feb 10, 2010
A lot of questions, my wife is a lawyer, not me, but i can bring a few answers:

1. Yes

2. Licenciatura / 3 years / no

3. Dominican nationality

4. Yes you need

5. What is you area of expertise ? most of the dominican law codes come from french legislation.

6. If you're good, they may recruit you

7. In a big law firm, at the beginning may be 50 K USD x year.

Cheers

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
I don't know if it makes any difference, but do you have dual citizenship?

atoribio

Apr 16, 2010