I just can't do it...I know I'll look weird

maaron1

Feb 5, 2010
So I'll be down in a week for my vacation. I decided to check out the weather. Rain - okay, what else is new; and heat, expected. Unexpected (as this is my first time) is this rigid dress code. I can deal with pants at night, but there is no way I think I can do jeans, during the day as I'm touring the streets of SD. Almost 100% humidity with 90 deg temps. In the US we have lots of humidity, but we don't mind wearing shorts either. So tell me, expats, after several years of living here (there) have your bodies adjusted, can you tolerate extreme heat/humidity better than when you first moved down?

Just curious.

MA

Reactions: AlterEgo

waytogo

Moderator - North Coast Forum
Apr 3, 2009
Santiago DR
After 2 and a half years in Santiago without going back to the states I still get totally soaked from the high humidity. Everyday in the high humidity months I have to shower and change my clothes several times a day.

jrhartley

Gold
Sep 10, 2008
Im curious how the jeans thing started, I dont think other islands seem to have the same fixation with them .......or am I wrong

Anastacio

Banned
Feb 22, 2010
I have become used to it, I get hot and sticky, but handle it rather than getting myself flustered by it, but I also seem to have adapted to that baggy look to keep a bit of air circulating. I feel a little bit of a HipHop fashion victim at times but there is method and use to the madness of that whole style I have found. I don't go the whole hog and wear baggy tops but baggy jeans are a must or my pants are like swimming trunks before I'm out of the house. I also stand in the central reservations alot to get some air from the passing traffic sometimes.
Overall my body doesn't leak as much as it used to, but I have Dominicanized in the way I find as little movement as possible helps, but I've also put on about 1/3 of my body mass in 4 years.

shawn27

May 24, 2010