Haiti's Earthquake and Immigration in the DR

The presence of illegal immigrants from Haiti in your area has...

• Considerably More

Votes: 13 72.2%
  • Slightly More

Votes: 3 16.7%
  • The same

Votes: 2 11.1%
  • Slightly Less

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Considerably Less

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Now that it has been at least 7 months since the earthquake that devastated the Ouest and Sud departments of Haiti, what has happened to the presence of immigrants from Haiti in your area of the DR?

Ignore the word 'illegal' in the question, this is meant to judge DR1ers perception of the Haitian presence post the earthquake.

Last edited:

Anastacio

Banned
Feb 22, 2010
People keep banging on about the increase but I genuinely can't see any difference to what we had before. There is a massive increase in Haitian Students, thats all I notice.
Santo Domingo

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
About the same amount of Haitians here in the east, mostly employed by Dominican building companies, gardening companies, resorts etc.
As I have no way of checking all their papers I can't reply to the poll, sorry.

Reactions: drloca

bienamor

Kansas redneck an proud of it
Apr 23, 2004
People keep banging on about the increase but I genuinely can't see any difference to what we had before. There is a massive increase in Haitian Students, thats all I notice.
Santo Domingo

dont know if they are legal or illegal, but you hear a lot more Kyrol in the streets here in SD(colonial zone, ciudad nueva).With some more kids begging.

Matilda

RIP Lindsay
Sep 13, 2006