My move to Bavaro - some thoughts

tjmurray

Bronze
Aug 11, 2006
After living in Santo Domingo for four years, I decided to make a move to the Cortecito area of B?varo about a month ago on August 1st. I write in a journal and these are some of my thoughts about the move, contrasting the capital and the east coast from MY point of view. Everyone will see things different, but this has been my experience.

The negatives...

-No friends :( I’ll break out my violin. Obviously, I left family and friends in the capital and I’m the newbie here so I’m just starting to meet some people around town. In the capital, I was so used to having several different options of things to do almost every night without even looking for them, and now my cell phone is silent. For the time being, the change is kinda nice, but I do miss getting out with friends on a regular basis.

-No transportation. I sold off much of what I owned in the capital which included my car. People will tell you it’s a nightmare to live in B?varo without your own transport but in all honesty, I’m doing ok. I’m fortunate enough to have two supermarkets, pharmacy, gym, restaurants, bars, etc, all in walking distance from my home. At night things can get a bit complicated because the taxis are much more expensive than in the capital. I opt for motos when necessary.

Not having my own transport is only hurting because it's very difficult to get to Macao Beach to surf on public transport: two buses and then a mile and a half walk. I love to surf and the surf school up there is even holding my board for me. So, maybe I’ll get a moped some day soon or try and hop in with someone who drives up there regularly. If you know someone, let me know :)