Classic car restoration here in the DR

beeza

Silver
Nov 2, 2006
I thought I would share these pics with you all.

It is a 1992 Porsche 968 convertible. My sources tell me it's the only one in the DR. They are very rare anyway as they were only made for three years, filling in the gap between the 944 and the Boxster.

My Dad and I rescued it from a DR1 member in Jarabacoa. He didn't have the resources to lavish any attention on it and his mechanic lacked the necessary mechanical sympathy needed with cars like this.

The project took almost a year. Spare parts were procured from the US and UK.

Both my Dad and I are engineers by trade and this project was fairly easy, because one thing that we didn't have to deal with was rust. Most Porsches are galvanised. However the electrics were a real challenge as you can see from the pics. Absolutely nothing worked. But with the magic of internet we were able to get all the manuals and completely re-wire it to Porsche's original spec.

Now it's finished. And it's a blast!

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

a>

Bronxboy

Jul 11, 2007
Nice.:bunny::bunny:

How much was the total project if you dont mind me asking?

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004
Very nice! ^5!

if you're looking for another project, I know of a DeLorean in Jarabacoa that might be available...

beeza

Silver
Nov 2, 2006
Nice.:bunny::bunny:

How much was the total project if you dont mind me asking?

A lot!

Most of the expense was shipping the parts with EPS. Although I was able to bring back the new hood, rear seats and carpets in my luggage when I visited the UK. The handy thing about working for an airline!

Reactions: Bronxboy

JFD

Feb 10, 2010
How have you been managing the cleaning and coating of parts. I've been trying to find someone that can sand blast and galvanize and/or powder coat without success.