Many lessons here for the DR

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
What exactly is the "lesson?"

Haiti's tourism industry was destroyed by the aids epidemic and the CNNs of the world making sure every living soul knew about it. Then in the end it turn out to be false, a huge lie, not true. Somehow the CNNs of the world didn't found it worthy to launch an apology to Haiti for destroying their tourism industry and putting in place a campaign to undo the negative image they had already created.

Having said that, I personally think the tourism industry that once existed in Haiti is grossly exaggerated.

While it was a 'hot spot' in those times, at its peak in 1980 the country received 139,000 tourists by air and 163,000 by sea; for a total of 302,000. Net expenditures on tourism reached their peak in 1981 at a bare US$44 million (roughly US$103 million in 2009 dollars). The number of hotel rooms registered in the country was also at its peak in 1981 at only 3,000 rooms. (Haiti Tourism)

The Dominican tourism industry is a completely different animal. In 2009, the Dominican Republic received almost 4 million tourists (http://www.onecaribbean.org/content/files/Sept3Lattab09.pdf).

In even greater detail are the stats for 2007:

3.8 million visitors.
89% stayed in hotels/resorts.
95% visited for leisure.
Almost 65,000 rooms.
Total expenditure of almost US$3.8 billion.
(http://www.onecaribbean.org/content/files/2007DRtoHaitCountryStats.pdf)

Focusing back on Haiti; in 2007 Haitian tourism was as follows:

386,060 visitors by air + 482,077 visitors by sea = 868,137
1,758 rooms
37% of visitors by air stayed at a hotel.
31% " " " " " " visited for leisure.
Total expenditure of US$54 million.
(Go to page 69: http://www.onecaribbean.org/content/files/2007DRtoHaitCountryStats.pdf)