coal ash in the DR

dominicanadian

Aug 30, 2010
puryear270

I started a new thread here to try and answer your question, did'nt want to confuse anyone, I'm just learning the rules on the forums. Here are a few things i found out about the ash from coal power plants. As far as exact areas were these toxins are stored I can't find much info. ( some what secretive), for all i know it could be next to the top of one of the rios that i like to swim in :paranoid:
here is what i could find:

As reported, a Virginia-based power company, AES Corporation, is blamed for causing these health problems after illegally dumping 160 million pounds of coal ash in the Dominican Republic. The company is accused of hiring a contractor to ship the coal ash -- a byproduct of burning the fossil fuel at power plants -- to Saman?, on the Dominican Republic's Atlantic coast, where it sat for two years. Later, villagers began to complain of children being born with horrible disorders, such as missing limbs or having organs on the outside of their bodies. Last week, a class action lawsuit was filed in a Delaware court alleging AES is responsible for the health problems in Saman? and should be held liable for correcting the situation.

If you think what pours out of power plant smokestacks is bad, consider what gets left behind. The waste from burning coal is packed with heavy metals such as arsenic, which causes cancer. Around the country, about 600 landfills and surface ponds are used to store leftover contaminated coal waste. When they break or leak, communities face the risk of contaminated farmland, wildlife and drinking water. And the coal ash stored in unlined landfills in communities all across the country -- and around the world -- can leach into drinking water supplies.