New Member looking to buy in the DR-Advice

jricks76

Feb 11, 2011
Hello All,

My wife and I have been visiting the DR for a few years now and love it. We have decided we are going to look into possibly buying on our next trip in May.

My question(s) is this...

I have of course scanned all the websites listing properties, they all seem to be advertising the same bunch of properties and most I find the asking prices to be a bit unreasonable, especially given the current market and the fact that many properties have been on the market for a year or more. (including a lot of listings on DR1) I have been following DR1 for quite some time and have seen posts indicating is ok to offer much lower than asking price in some cases as low as 100k below asking. Is this true?

As we have been there many times and have several local friends I am aware that there is a different price for "rich" foreigners, and being on the ground ready to buy is different than internet searching.

We are looking somewhere within 15 minutes drive of Sosua or Cabarete. I have seen properties that need about 15K US worth of work for as low as $60k US and as high as over $200K US that don't need any work. Seems out of wack.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Having been following this board for awhile I know some great insight comes from it's members.

If anyone knows someone who is looking to sell and is reasonable please drop me a line. also is anyone familiar with Serenity Del Sol in East Cabarete? Is it a decent place?

Thanks to all in advance, look forward to being a contributing member as well as a neighbor!

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
Properties can stay on the market for a long time. The houses are paid for in cash and the owners wait for their price. If you find someone desperate to cash out that is another story. As far as I am concerned, I think you should offer what you want to offer.