Canadian moving to the DR, seeking some advice RE: Employment.

JohnZee

Mar 15, 2011
Hey there,

Thanks for reading this firstly!

So here's the situation, my Fiancee and I are looking to move to the DR sometime post July. She's lived in the DR before, and is seeking out employment through various contacts she has, which are mostly within the Resort sector.

Up here in Canada, I work as a Carpenter / General Contractor. I am trying to dig up information on companies down in the DR that would be interested in hiring / potentially starting my own business / just getting a general feel for the construction scene in the DR.

Any advice is welcome! Anything at all! All in all, I'm comfortable working anywhere, though obviously the trades are my forte, so Im trying that avenue first.

Thanks in advance!

JZ

Reactions: mike l

Anastacio

Banned
Feb 22, 2010
It is going to be difficult to grind a good living out of carpentry only. You will be quite depressed at the measly amount natives are willing to pay, even for time served tradesmen. Saying that, up until recently I was kept weekend busy by word of mouth around the ex pat communities.
I think this if anything would be the way to go, try and force yourself into the ex pat scene where ever you are, get yourself liked, then get the ball rolling offering to do jobs. If you are good then there is no better advertising than word of mouth.
I was working evenings and weekends to bunf up my regular 8 till 6 through the week, you may find you need to do the same.
You won't get taken on by a Dom company, slight chance if you are fluent, but still slim.
Any to make a living you need to be self employed really.
Good luck.

Reactions: mike l

Mike_n_Val

Dec 24, 2010