New to the site...Safety in Punta Cana Rentals

jrjrth

Bronze
Mar 24, 2011
I have been traveling to the Punta Cana area for many years. We normally would stay at an all inclusive resort and we have always felt safe within the resort. We are wondering if it is safe to wonder about on the local streets, beaches, shops and restaurants?? I read some horror stories of being held up by gunpoint in the North east coast area Las Terrenas etc...anyone have any input on crime in Punta Cana??

CaptnGlenn

Silver
Mar 29, 2010
It's perfectly safe... well, as safe as anyplace can be. If you use common sense, and the same precautions you would use at home and you'll be fine. I've stayed in AI's and my only regret was not having ventured out. Have you already rented a place to stay?

If you'll be in the Cortecito area, maybe you can stop by where my condo is under construction, send me some pics and tell me how it's going. LOL

CaptnGlenn

Silver
Mar 29, 2010
It's Corte Sea. Being built by the same developers as the Arenas de Barvaro 1 and 2. in the same general location as Palm Suites, Santa Maria del Mar 1 and 2, and a few others.

trangalanga

Jun 10, 2011
www.villa-elena-bavaro.com
Bavaro is stabilizing and maturing. The past couple of years have seen an increase in police cars patrolling the streets, and the new Municipality has taken seriously to cleaning the city of garbage. As a result, now Bavaro is IMHO more agreable to live in than it was three years ago.

In general you will be safe. However, there are of course crimes in the area. Some bancas, colmados and shops do get robbed, mainly at night. Some people get assaulted.