Moving to sosua and cost of living in el batey sosua

pucca

Mar 30, 2010
Hey you must have seen my last post im moving with my husband and 1yo kid
i think it was best to start another post, besides information on day care prices
locations quality i?d also like to know about prices on things, im dominican
and i dont have problems with consuming local food, (im describing my style of living
so you can help me better) me and my husband also smoke ciggs and drink sometimes,
we?re not much of party people but we do go out sometimes plus with the baby
is pretty difficult.

so electric bills?
water bills?
cable?
cellphone signal for claro and orange?
food?
transportation?(oh yeah transportation i santiago people get around
in conchos, how is it in sosua? any routes?motoconchos?)
day cares close from el batey?quality of service?rates?
job offers?(im a certified teacher, i?ve worked with callcenters, pet store, and with costumer service)

anything else i must know please! let me know ^^

NYC_Trini_Span

Sep 9, 2005
Well my info may help but I haven't lived there in a while (i do speak to my old neighbors frequently). I moved to Sosua for 30 days to learn more spanish and ended up staying 2005-2008. I built a small biz teaching ESL and then Spanish once I spoke it well. I say that to let you know I wasn't rich nor did I go with ANY type of savings. Just enough to pay about 1-3 months rent at around $300 USD in el batey for a 1 bedroom with phone line internet (fairly fast for avg use) hot water and generator. Was able to lower that to 260 by doing a lot of my own repairs and bargaining. MY 2nd place cost half that for half the size. Some places charge around 450 per month or so, for a duplex apt. Once you are actually IN Sosua it's easier to network and find out what's available.

My electric used to be around 1,500 or more (maybe $50+ usd) in my 2nd place. In the first it was "included".