Help a newbie??? Make a friend???

PDXGURL

Apr 8, 2011
I am starting this thread because I unintentionally "hijacked" someone elses thread in the forum. After apologizing, I am now moving on!

So, I am planning to move to the DR in the next couple of years, sooner if I can manage it. I am looking for advise on any and everything from safe neighborhoods to cultural values and no-no's. I have already gotten some great advise from a few dr1 posters, but am wanting to learn all that I can. I have heard that Santiago and Puerto Plata (or Punta Cana) are good areas for newbies. My daughters, for now, will be staying in the states. I will be bringing my son, who is 8 now, with me. Not sure if I will home-school or go the private sector route. I am a massage therapist by trade, any licensing laws there? It has been suggested that I network with orthopedic doctors and do pro-bono work for people with disabilities, both welcomed suggestions, but open for more. I have experience in office management and customer service as well.

Does anyone have experience with attending a US school online while living the the DR? Is that a common practice? I think I need to research that more on this end.

I am 34, widowed, a cancer-survivor and am wanting to move to the DR for peace and to live a more simple life. I long for friendly people, warm beaches, water sports, fun, and bringing my son up in a place where human decency is more important than the kind of car you drive. I know that the DR has a lot to offer. I have been reading dr1 for hours at a time, I can tell that most love it there. I know that everywhere has it's own sets of problems, but I think that it will be a great move for me!

Do any of you posters here know one another personally? Any group functions? I am hoping to start friendships here that can progress once we have landed in the Dominican Republic!