Travel with expired residence?

Mauricio

Gold
Nov 18, 2002
My provisional residence is going to expire 2nd of July. I am going on a trip some days later. Will I be able to enter DR again as a resident, I suppose I won't have time to get my permanent residence, while that includes a new medical exam, and I remember for last year it takes a while to get the results.

Will it give a problem to get the permanent residence after the provisional residence has expired (even though it will only be 1 month or so?

tink23

Jul 15, 2008
I believe if your provisional residency is expired that you will have to enter the country on a tourist card, unless you have proof that you have started the process of getting your permanent residency. Exiting the country you may have to pay the fee for overstay, but if it's only been 1 month that your residency expired, that fee is only 800 pesos I believe. But, perhaps you'll get lucky and the immigration officer won't pay too much attention to the recent expiry date...?

I know of a couple right now whose provisional residency has been expired for over 2 years and they are now going through the motions of getting their permanent residency. As far as I know they're not experiencing any problems. Their cedulas had also expired so they had to pay the new increased fee to renew those, but other than that, I think it's pretty standard.

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004
Just show it to Customs, worst case they make you get a tourist card. I am laying 10-1 they won't even know it expired. I know someone with a temporary residence card that expired 7 years ago and got in without a word from Customs.

mido

Bronze
May 18, 2002
Don't present an expired residency card at immigration, they will take it away from you, sometimes you pay a fine. Just leave and enter the country as a tourist.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002