Google Earth, Barrick Gold & their wonderful gift to the DR!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I was recently told that Google Earth had updated many photos through out the DR, and me being me, I had to check it out.

Fair enough, everything was going well.

Then I zoomed in the Cotu? area and the image over the Pueblo Viejo gold mine (currently under concession with Barrick Gold) looked quite nice and clear:

barrick1.jpg

Yes, the mountain is being destroyed, but that's normal mining practice (look at the Falconbridge Ferronickel mine near Bonao). On the other side its still covered in a nice and dense forest, but then I noticed this river:

barrick2.jpg

On the plains the forest has been cleared a little and the river is much more visible:

barrick3.jpg

And look where all that crap is being dumped into:

barrick4.jpg

For the geographically illiterate, that's the Hatillo dam reservoir. I think part of that water is used in some nearby aqueducts, but I'm certain in many areas of the reservoir people like to socialize and go in for a bath or to frolic in the water. Entire families go there with the kids having plenty of fun in that water.

Thanks Barrick Gold for such a considerate gift. :mad:

BTW, there are other mines clearly visible in Google Earth (Falconbridge near Bonao, Cabo Rojo in Pedernales, etc) and none have this 'gift' that Barrick Gold is giving the country from the bottom of their heart. :rolleyes:

AJL6767

Apr 14, 2011
From what i understand, mining operations have not started yet, and preparation is still ongoing. You wrote about " crap " but have you or anyone done analysis on what is going into the water? Maybe you can post the chemical results so we can look at this in an intelligent manner. I know that they have spent a vast sum of $ bringing in equipment to process and eliminate many pollutants from mining and to protect the enviorment. How much of this have you seen.