Oops! I lost my Cedula and Residencia!

botemon

Jun 28, 2008
Greetings,
Well?as luck would have it I really messed up and lost my Cedula and Perm Residencia. And I just finished the renewing process a couple months ago. I MAY have left them at the passport control booth at POP airport a few weeks ago upon arrival. When I left the country I asked them about this (lost and found) and of course they totally don?t understand what I?m talking about?..Sooooo?.I am afraid that on my next trip home I will have to figure out how to replace the lost Cedula and Residencia cards. Anyone ever had this happen before and know where I need to go to get them replaced? Costs involved? I imagine a trip to Immigration in SD will be in order. I really look forward to that! Thanks in advance for any info! I know, I was a dumb A$$ for losing them!:disappoin
Respectfully,

whirleybird

Silver
Feb 27, 2006
Well, I am no expert on the legalities of your situation but have very recent experience of 'losing' brand new residencia (in my case, only 2 hours old) and you can read the full story here http://www.dr1.com/forums/living/114474-adventure-capital-how-renew-residency-cedula-hard-way.html

If I had not been armed with the relevant police report detailing the theft of my belongings, bearing in mind that I had no residency card or cedula (albeit out of date) + no passport, the further residency card, for which they charged me an additional RD$ 2500, and cedula would not have been a possibility.

I would therefore suggest that you report your lost cards and take a detailed police report firstly to Immigration to obtain duplicate residency card and a further (must be original copy) to the offices where they issue cedulas for extranjeros.

Good luck!!

botemon

Jun 28, 2008