Tutoring in the DR

95civhb

Jan 25, 2012
Hi all,

I am looking to relocate at some point this year to the DR, and I'm wondering about the private tutoring market. What are the extremes (price wise) in the Santo Domingo area?

I am currently teaching at an international school in Asia, but the research/reading I've done about the private schools here has not been flattering, either due to the administration, the pay, or both.

So, if you can shed some light on the tutoring market, that would be great, OR, if you have a suggestion on a quality institution (k-12 school or university) where a native English speaker (very little Spanish at this point) could gain employment (I have a Bachelor of Education and a Bachelor of Business), that would be great!

Thanks!

Criss Colon

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
yahoomail.com
My two daughters,8 and 10,have a tutor 1 hour a day,5 days a week.She teaches in a public school near our house ..I pay her $50 US dollars a month.She will be your competition here!
"Google" for a company that recruits teachers for international positions.
Cris Colon
CC

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
the freelance teaching thing is tricky

i have been offered wowowowo as much as300 pesos an hour ... which is about what they pay for a manicure and pedicure in my neighborhood

there are folks from Africa teaching English for 100 pesos an hour

however, I know a man who started out at 300 and now pulls in 1000 an hour

training for the TOEFL will command 400 an hour or more.. IF you can find your clients,,, and have a place to teach.... or are willing to spend hours in traffic in publicos.....

best bet probably is to go teach at Dominican American---where they will be happy to have you and where you will make perhaps a living wage of US $1500 a month

Carol Morgan pays better but is also stricter on requirements and harder work