Coastal road to Las Terrenas

Cabaretecanuck

Mar 27, 2011
I'm new to DR1, although I have read it off and on for a couple of years. My wife and I have been living here for about three years and love the north coast.

We live in Cabarete, and normally travel to Las Terrenas through the mountain road. I have heard the new coastal road is finished. Can anybody confirm the road now goes through from by the El Catey airport to Las Terrenas? My parents are flying into El Catey, and we thought it would be nice to try the coastal road if it's finished. Also, what is the cost to use it?

agw

Feb 14, 2010
It's a beautiful drive. Close to RD$500 for the toll from the airport - can't remember exactly.

It's just too bad they didn't build scenic lookout points along the way that are safe to stop at. There is one point just before you get to Las Terrenas that we were able to stop on the ocean side of the road and take photos.

We spent one night in Las Terrenas then drove to the town of Samana and I was fortunate enough to go out on Kim Beddall's tour to see the whales and had an excellent morning! Saw one lone male first then a group of 1 female and 7 males that was awesome to see.

Cabaretecanuck

Mar 27, 2011
Thanks for the prompt reply. Sounds great, I'm looking forward to trying it. We really like Las Terrenas, but the mountain road still needs a lot of work.

It's a beautiful drive. Close to RD$500 for the toll from the airport - can't remember exactly.

It's just too bad they didn't build scenic lookout points along the way that are safe to stop at. There is one point just before you get to Las Terrenas that we were able to stop on the ocean side of the road and take photos.

We spent one night in Las Terrenas then drove to the town of Samana and I was fortunate enough to go out on Kim Beddall's tour to see the whales and had an excellent morning! Saw one lone male first then a group of 1 female and 7 males that was awesome to see.

KateP

Silver
May 28, 2004