Expats Victims of Theft

If you're an expat, have you been a victim of theft? (Read OP, then vote)

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This poll was suggested by Givadogahome almost a month ago. I totally forgot about it, sorry about about that.

If you're an expat, have you been a victim of theft?

A) Yes, at home.
B) Yes, on the street.
C) Yes, at a business (clubs, hotels, restaurants, etc).*
D) Never

*Being a victim of a rip-off doesn't count.

For those that have been victims, explain:

1. For how long have you been an expat in the Dominican Republic?
2. How many times has it happened?
3. Do you think there's a good chance it will happen again?
4. Are you considering moving? If so, to another part of the country or abroad?

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
A. Yes, 3 times.

B. Yes, i1 time

Can it happen again, nadie sabe.

No plans to move from the DR.

Why move, no place is truly safe.

When I lived on my boat in Samana harbor, one morning when walking from the dock on the island at the end of the bridge to town to catch the employee bus to my job at Hotel Gran Bahia. This was early in the morning, abut 8 am. I was mugged by a guy who stepped out of some bushes. He hit me across the side of my head with his machete, breaking my jaw in 2 places and cutting off my ear lob. When I recovered consciousness, I walked back to the dock, called for my wife to get me in the dinghy and take me to the doctor.

Later I went to Boston for some dental work because my teeth weren't lining up properly making chewing difficult. While there I told my story to a local. After hearing my story he told hie his. He had been jogging in the largest public park in Boston a few days previously when a man stepped out of the bushes, stuck a pistol in his stomach and took his money and his watch.

He was not planning to leave Boston.

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
12 years
Once, wallet nicked from my bag in the supermarket