The King of Dominican Golf (according to DR1ers)

Of the two greatest Dominican golf courses, which one is truly the king?

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
As many of you know, the Dominican Republic is second to none when it comes to golfing in the Caribbean and Central America. Not only do we have the most number of courses, but also some of the best in the world.

The two titans of Dominican golf are Diente de Perro (aka, Teeth of the Dog) in La Romana and Punta Espada in Punta Cana.

teeth-of-the-dog-5-L.jpg

Diente de Perro, inaugurated in 1971, is legendary among golf enthusiasts everywhere. This course is such a big deal, that for the unfortunates not able to play it in person, they can actually do it in virtual reality via the Microsoft Golf simulators for the PC, which includes some of the best and most legendary courses like St Andrews in Scotland, Pebble Beach in California and yes, you guessed it, Teeth of the Dog!

Golf Magazine, in its "The 50 Greatest Courses of the Last 50 Years", has ranked Diente de Perro as the 8th greatest golf course in the world and, by default, the greatest golf course in Central America & the Caribbean, plus the 7th greatest golf course in the Western Hemisphere! (Interactive Map: The 50 Greatest Courses of the Last 50 Years | GOLF.com)

968-1-WSpuntaespada.jpg