update

Status
Not open for further replies.

lea126

Jul 21, 2011
I orignially came on this site 7 months ago to look for advice about moving to the dr, finding a job and obtaining a residency.

I was given some ADVICE by foeum members, which left a bad taste in my mouth. I am now pleased to see that theres not as much negativity on this site as previosuly. But to update you all......

my SANKY and I are still very much together. He pays half the bills like he said he would 7 months ago. He also works in a job he doesnt like much to ensure we have a good life.He gives me all his money to look after and we have decided to stay in the DR and not move to my home country.

The JOB I wouldnt get due to not being a resident, I got the day after I arrived and am now on a better wage than Ih ad in my home country.

My residency is in process with a lawyer recommended by my FRIENDS (apparently it was impossible to have freinds in this country - well thats what I was told)

I just wanted to update for people who get shot down saying it wont work. I have beeni n the country againf or 7 months and I have a brilliant life with an amazing man. So I suppose some of the people in these forums dont give too good advice.

La Rubia

Bronze
Jan 1, 2010
Congratulations, glad to hear things are working out for you.

To misquote Gandhi: "Be the poster you want to see."

Certainly, the site can benefit from your positive input, look forward to more updates.

CaptnGlenn

Silver
Mar 29, 2010
congrats and best wishes for continued success. I will say though, knowing what the usual compensation is like in the D.R., you've either been wildly lucky to get a VERY highly paid job, or you were making very little in your home country... or both. Regardless... credit where credit is due. <high five>

Mar 1, 2009
Edited by Robert:

I suggest you delete DR1 form your bookmarks if that is how you feel.

Last edited by a moderator:

keepcoming

Moderator - Living & General Stuff
May 25, 2011