living in DR, getting married with a marriage contract...

devotion

Apr 6, 2011
living in DR since 4 years, I want to know if it's possible to get married with a marriage contract like it's done in Canada or in US?

Oct 28, 2011
I am not a lawyer but it depends who you are marrying!If it's with a Dominican, don't bother...you'd be wasting your time. Otherwise you could get an English speaking atty. to draw up a contract and probably have it validated at your embassy.

Feb 7, 2007
I think it was mentioned here that prenups were not legal in the DR or something like that...you better search the board

AnnaC

Gold
Jan 2, 2002
"Prenup"

If you are getting married in the Dominican Republic, the separate property agreement must be prepared by a Dominican Notary BEFORE the marriage (that’s why it’s called a “prenuptial” agreement) and handed over to the Civil Registry Officer (“Oficial de Estado Civil”) at the marriage.
I am assuming that you’ll want the agreement to be enforceable in the Dominican Republic. If you don’t care about this but are only interested in its validity in your home country, then you’ll have to consult an attorney from home.

The prenuptial agreement is as simple or as complicated as the future spouses want it to be. A straight separation agreement is a very simple document. It will state in legal terms that whatever a spouse acquired before or during marriage will belong to him/her exclusively and that assets in a spouse’s name belong to that spouse exclusively.

If the spouses do not sign a prenuptial, their assets are governed by the community-property provisions of the Civil Code (Articles 1400 to 1496). Spouses are 50-50 owners of all matrimonial assets. These assets consist of the following:

1) All moveable properties (in essence, everything but real estate) belonging to either spouse at the time of the marriage or acquired by either of them during marriage, even by inheritance or gift unless the testator or donor has expressed otherwise.