Do Dominican's have a live for the day attitude?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DBCooper

Aug 25, 2011
I've only been going down to the Dominican Republic for a couple of years so I'm far from an expert on everything Dominican. I do respect and enjoy the culture and I think that the country is one of the most beautiful in the world. So, this being said, I wanted to hear what others think about one particular observation that I think has been detrimental to the Dominican Republic in many ways.

From what I've seen, Dominicans tend to have a live for the day attitude. The average wage here is minuscule by standards in my home country (U.S.) but it seems like they will spend every dime they get on the latest cell phone, clothes, buy the most expensive of items and yet fail to put anything away for a rainy day or invest. Obviously this doesn't apply to all the Dominicans I've met. Some could give a Harvard Business School grad a run for their money. It's also not that I haven't seen this type of behavior in the U.S. It's just not as prevalent. I also don't think that it's strictly Dominican as many other Islands in the Caribbean tend to display this behavior. For obvious reasons this behavior is detrimental to forming family wealth. So, ok, what is it about the culture that has brought this about? Why is it so prevalent? I'd very much like to hear the points of view of Dominicans and of others who've spent a decade or more in the country. If I'm wrong or I should be looking at this from a different perspective, please explain.

No disrespect is intended with this post, it's an honest question/observation from my point of view. I'd just like to gain a better understanding of the why behind the behavior. Thanks!!!! DB

suarezn

Gold
Feb 3, 2002