Labor law: sanction for employer not paying minimum wage?

Barnabe

Dec 20, 2002
An other question about labor law: there is a minimum wage but apparently, many employers, including in the formal sector, do not respect it.

Are there any sanctions for companies not paying the minimum wage? Do employees have a possibility to demand the company?

Thanks,

Barnabe

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
An other question about labor law: there is a minimum wage but apparently, many employers, including in the formal sector, do not respect it.

Are there any sanctions for companies not paying the minimum wage? Do employees have a possibility to demand the company?

Thanks,

Barnabe

I have no personal experience with this but would certainly think that employees being paid less than the mandated minimum for the category their employer is in could go to the local office of the labor department and make a claim.

Also, there are many labor lawyers, all of whom I am sure would be happy to take the case for a percentage of what they get from the employer.

waytogo

Moderator - North Coast Forum
Apr 3, 2009
Santiago DR
Is there a current chart available that shows the minimum wage amounts and categories.............

B in Santiago

Barnabe

Dec 20, 2002
Is there a current chart available that shows the minimum wage amounts and categories.............

B in Santiago

There is a general chart:
http://www.ilo.org/dyn/travail/docs/768/Resolución No.5.2011 Privado no sectorizado-Refrendada.pdf

Problems:
- there are special wages for specific sectors (construction, restaurants, hotels,..), for free zones. so it depends
- in that chart, the minimum wage depends on the size (the assets) of the company. As an emplyer, it's OK. As en employee, I am not sure it is easy to know what the minimum wage is in their company.
- the link on the Ministerio del Trabajo website for the "resoluciones vigentes" is a dead link..

Barnabe

Barnabe

Dec 20, 2002