DR Ladders

IMF Brooklyn II

Feb 16, 2004
Santiago
I worked in construction in the states and was I subject to safety training requirements and OSHA rules. So I'm familiar with the use of ladders. I have noticed when Dominicans use an extension ladder they almost universally use it with the upper sliding section on the inside toward the surface where the ladder rest. This is completely opposite the way I was trained to use an extension ladder in the USA.
I am talking about all the people working for Claro, EDE's, Tricom, all cable companies and any subcontractor working for these big companies. I'm not claiming to know it all so could anyone tell me why this inconsistancy in ladder usage exists in the DR. It is completely opposite the way an extension ladder is normally used.

Tamborista

hasta la tambora
Apr 4, 2005
Perhaps you could give ladder lessons to the telco's.
I am sure they would be receptive.

sayanora

Silver
Feb 22, 2012
I worked in construction in the states and was I subject to safety training requirements and OSHA rules. So I'm familiar with the use of ladders. I have noticed when Dominicans use an extension ladder they almost universally use it with the upper sliding section on the inside toward the surface where the ladder rest. This is completely opposite the way I was trained to use an extension ladder in the USA.
I am talking about all the people working for Claro, EDE's, Tricom, all cable companies and any subcontractor working for these big companies. I'm not claiming to know it all so could anyone tell me why this inconsistancy in ladder usage exists in the DR. It is completely opposite the way an extension ladder is normally used.

I bet there's a reason they do it that way, I personally have no idea but I'll ask my friend who works for edenorte next time I see him.

CFA123

Silver
May 29, 2004
it's lack of training, lack of following training, lack of understanding of risk of injury, and lack of attention to detail.