1st trip to Santo Domingo

Chris Dogan

Nov 6, 2012
www.twitter.com
So i decided to spend christmas, my birthday, and new years all in DR. i dont speak spanish, Im traveling alone, and It's my first time in country. any advice, tips, and/or anything else you guys can provide will be greatly appreciated!!!!!!

Tamborista

hasta la tambora
Apr 4, 2005
Ummmm, learn numbers and basic Spanish phrases, and do not bring any jewelery or expensive phones & bring many condoms!

Reactions: Riva_31
Dec 26, 2011
Learn ten Spanish words a day, each and every day before your visit. This will radically enhance your experience. Smell amazing at all times. If you're a big tipper at home, dial it back a little. Good luck.

yopote

Jan 22, 2012
you are bad tamborista.. but is the thruth

i lought whey i saw your quote but is the truth.. ?? lol
Ummmm, learn numbers and basic Spanish phrases, and do not bring any jewelery or expensive phones & bring many condoms!

Nov 18, 2012
Lot to do and see there. La Isabella Catolica, bunch of local bars near the colonial zone that are mainly local, been years and don't remember the names of them but use some caution at night and its always better if you have a buddy, Diego Columbus's home, Club Guacara Taina haven't been there for several years but is in a cave and had loud, electronic/techno music last time I went there. Botanical Gardens. Plenty of beaches: I have only been to Costambar and Sosua beaches on north coast and Boca Chica chica which is close to Santo Domingo. If you venture outside of Santo Domingo there are Caribe and Metro Buses and won't recommend for you to use gua guas and publicos with limited spanish and first time there . Of course what tamborista mentioned as well if you are a young man partying, lol.

RonS

Bronze
Oct 18, 2004