Canadian female wanting to move

cnhrvt

Nov 21, 2012
Hello everyone!

I have been doing some reading on here and love all the helpful day-to-day, how not to get killed advice!
So thank you very much for that!

In short, I am thinking of moving to the DR after visiting a few weeks ago. Not perminantly, but maybe for a year or so, in 2014 (fingers crossed). I was in a resort, but did take a tour out into the village, and went off the resort to eat some actual food, and I actually loved that more than being on the resort. I met such wonderful people. However, I know that the "touristy" things I did, are not even close to what DR is really like..

I have not been able to get much information in regards to the veterinary industry there. When I was in Punta Cana, I saw a billboard for a veterinary clinic and wished I had went in there to see what their standards of veterinary care are. I am currently a licensed/registered veterinary technician and would love to pursue my current career in the veterinary field, however, with the cost of living, and the average income is, I dont see this being a very fruitful experience. There are many strays running around.

So on that note, I was curious as to how big of an industry farming is? Do they seek veterinary care for livestock? I can see that being more realistic to pursue. And where would one go to seek job information regarding jobs like these? I'm not having much luck with Google.

And how come when I search for apartments/housing online, its saying it's like $2500 USD per month? Are these tourist-targeted vacation apartments? I want something small, one bedroom, kitchen, 1 bathroom, in a safe neighborhood close to the capital (Boca Chica, etc). Are there any KEY neighborhoods/areas I should just flat out avoid? (The Harlems or Comptons of DR? lol)