Question about Canadian sponsership

camilla

Oct 30, 2012
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to DR1 and first time posting in a forum EVER, so this is all new to me..My husband and I got married on September 4, 2012 and I just submitted our application to Mississauga today via my lawyer.

My question - has anyone sponsored their spouse who had children from a previous relationship, however they were not accompanying your spouse? I was curious if this delayed the approval process. My spouse has 4 children from a previous relationship prior to me and my lawyer said that this can delay the approval process up to 18 months even though we've been in a relationship (on an off) for the last 8 years and have the documents/pictures to prove it.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much for your help!

AnnaC

Gold
Jan 2, 2002
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to DR1 and first time posting in a forum EVER, so this is all new to me..My husband and I got married on September 4, 2012 and I just submitted our application to Mississauga today via my lawyer.

My question - has anyone sponsored their spouse who had children from a previous relationship, however they were not accompanying your spouse? I was curious if this delayed the approval process. My spouse has 4 children from a previous relationship prior to me and my lawyer said that this can delay the approval process up to 18 months even though we've been in a relationship (on an off) for the last 8 years and have the documents/pictures to prove it.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much for your help!

Welcome to DR1
Many have sponsored a spouse with children and as far as I know this should not delay his application. Make sure they are on his application even though they are not accompanying him.

camilla

Oct 30, 2012