Hi everyone!

irislopez55

Dec 18, 2012
Hi everyone,

My name is Iris Lopez and I am currently a college senior at the University of California, Santa Barbara. This past summer, I studied abroad in the Caribbean and had the amazing opportunity to visit the Dominican Republic. I absolutely loved it and as a result I decided to do my senior thesis on the Dominican community. The working title of my thesis so far is "Reconstructing Racial Identity: The Racial Experience of Puerto Ricans and Dominicans in New York." The purpose of my research is to explore the racial experiences of Dominicans and Puerto Ricans in the United States. I believe that due to the differing views of race in the Caribbean and the United States, these communities have a unique racial experience. In order to complete my research, I need to conduct interviews and would HIGHLY appreciate volunteers to be part of this project. I am looking for first, second or third generation Dominicans living in any of the five boroughs of NYC who are least 18 years of age. Interviews would be conducted over the phone or via the internet. If anyone would like more information or is interested in participating, you can contact me by responding to this thread or through e-mail at . I would greatly appreciate your help! Happy Holidays to everyone! Thanks!

Iris Lopez
Senior Undergraduate| University of California, Santa Barbara
Political Science and Sociology Undergraduate

if you want to contact the OP, click on her name and send a privated message

Last edited by a moderator:

LTSteve

Gold
Jul 9, 2010
Hi:
Your thesis sounds like a very interesting topic. I am often amazed how open and comfortable Dominican's are with all skin colors and relationships involving, what Americans would cal,l inter-racial relationships. As a Dominican, whether your skin is light, dark or in between there doesn't seem to be a distinction made. Dominicans, are definitely comfortable in their own skin. Good luck.

LTSteve

jonytuga