Paperwork for marriage in DR

Macy Kai

Jul 7, 2012
Please can anyone give me any advise of organising the paperwork I need to get married here in Dominican Republic. I am a non resident, getting married to a Dominican resident.

Can I have my documents translated and legalised etc here. Will a lawyer take care of that?
Does anyone know of a lawyer who works in this field, and an idea of cost?
Also an idea of the time frame needed in order to organise the paperwork would be really helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Apr 13, 2011
The Dominican Consulate in NYC was very helpful about which documents I needed - and they did the translations and put the appropriate stamps on the documents (and I assume the other consulate offices would be just as helpful). I do not remember the fees for their services, but they were reasonable - and I knew the documents would be accepted because they had been done by the Dominican consulate office here in the US.

JMB773

Silver
Nov 4, 2011
All you need is your passport and birth certificate, the document that states your single you can get it done in the DR by your lawyer.

btw they are going to keep your birth certificate because those A holes kept mine. Good Luck:)
I forgot you asked about the cost. I can only speak of the cost my lawyer charged and it was around 13,000RD to 15,000RD for everything but each lawyer will have their own fee.

chrisdr

Oct 7, 2012
I got married last year and I got my birth certificate apostilled in the UK and the I had to send it to the Dominican Embassy in the UK to get legalized and translated. It has to be legalized in the dominican consulate in your own country.
You also need a decree absolute - just a document signed saying you are not married which must be notarized - but this can be done in the DR.
I ordered a copy of my birth certificate and used that - like JMB773 said - they will keep our birth certificate. Cost me around $300 if I remember correctly...

Macy Kai

Jul 7, 2012