Dengue Fever: Do you know what to do?

Dengue Fever...

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
One of the most widespread diseases with basically no viable treatment (thanks in part to the absence of this disease where it counts -aka, the rich countries-), people should be aware of what can be done to prevent being infected by this mosquito spread virus. Every year the DR goes through waves of Dengue infections, some of which become deadly.

The poll is quite straight forward. Pick the answer that best suits your experience with this disease. If you have been infected, pick the first option; but if not, but know someone that has been infected, then pick the second option. The last two options are quite straight forward.

Share experience you have had with this disease, whether as a victim or as related to/knowing someone that was infected.

What are the symptoms like?

What can be done once infected to reduce the symptoms?

How can someone identify Dengue on someone else?

How to avoid getting the disease?

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
You need to know that Dengue is also known as "Bone break fever"...it is that bad...You think your bones are going to break..Rash and Fever like you won't believe.

As far as I know, there is no real cure for it. You will be given acetomenophen or something similar; lots of fluids, and anything to keep the fever down.

It can have lasting effects, so:
Make sure there is NO standing water anywhere near your house.
Sleep with mosquito nets
Make sure you know if there is anyone nearby with dengue.

Mosquitos are the vectors, so death to all mosquitos.

HB

The "word with the bark on it"": http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0002350/

Last edited:

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
Break Bone Fever.... it can affect your joints - serious pain/inability to ambulate/walk on your own.

My version came with only a headache... behind the eyes.
A headache so severe you cannot sleep.... or function normally.