IS THIS TRUE? U HAVE TO APPLY IF YOU ARE GOING TO BE OUT OF DR 4 6 months???

arrugala

Bronze
Nov 7, 2010
I am a permanent resident and i just was informed if i am out of the country longer than 26 weeks i need to apply for permission ? does anyone have knowledge on this?

Alltimegreat

Nov 16, 2012
That FAQ list had some useful information, however not the answer to the original question as far as I could discern. I would like to know where the OP obtained such information. I remember hearing rumors about this months ago and asked my attorney about it, who I believe said that this is a new rule and DOES NOT apply to permanent residents, but rather only temporary residents.

Can anyone verify that?

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
My understanding is that Permanent Residency remains intact provided you are not absent from RD for more than 6 months.

We had this discussion a while back.
Most countries have a 'minimum stay' residency requirement, RD has the opposite.

Alltimegreat

Nov 16, 2012
My understanding is that Permanent Residency remains intact provided you are not absent from RD for more than 6 months.

We had this discussion a while back.
Most countries have a 'minimum stay' residency requirement, RD has the opposite.

Thanks for the input. Could you please share your source of information? I've talked to an attorney who claims that is not the case.

Castellamonte

Bronze
Mar 3, 2005
Cabrera
www.villa-castellamonte.com
Maybe another reason to just plow ahead to get your Dominican citizenship? It's not all that hard although it does take time. I'm unsure of what I would do with a Dominican passport but since I don't have to renounce my US citizenship to become a DR citizen...maybe this is a reason?

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004