Question reg. Holding

caribmike

Gold
Jul 9, 2009
OK, here is what I am thinking to do:

I want to found a SRL as a holding.

2 questions:

1. Does a property already have to exist to be brought in or can a holding be found with the goal to acquire property?

2. If a property is owned and brought into the holding and the holding is in my name what happens to the property if I die? Will there be any complications for my son inheriting it?

Sorry, but I am total beginner regarding that.

Any input welcome

Thanks!

Castellamonte

Bronze
Mar 3, 2005
Cabrera
www.villa-castellamonte.com
1. The property does not have to "exist" prior to the forming of the SRL. Capitalize the SRL with a very small amount (to avoid unnecessary taxes) and only increase it when you have increased the material value of the company through the holdings.

2. Companies cannot die. You can. If an SRL owns the property then the partners in the SRL are going to have control of the property once you die. However, your personal ownership in the SRL is something that will fall under DR estate law. If your ownership in the SRL it through a US LLC, for example, then DR estate law has no basis in the resolution of this part of your estate.

Enjoy!

caribmike

Gold
Jul 9, 2009
Another question:

Is it possible to do 2 different things with a holding? Say holding property and doing some (web based) business or would that require 2 separate SRL?

Castellamonte

Bronze
Mar 3, 2005
Cabrera
A holding company, by definition, has no operations and thus no income to report and be taxed upon. Should you start a web-based business it would no longer be a non-operational company so it would be taxed accordingly.

Why create a company for a web-based business? What are you trying to protect within a corporate shield? Why not just do it individually?

caribmike

Gold
Jul 9, 2009