Expansion of the Santo Domingo Metro

Should the Metro be expanded?

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Should the Metro be expanded?

A) I have used the Metro and it should be expanded.
B) I have used the Metro and it should not be expanded.
C) I have not used the Metro and it should be expanded.
D) I have not used the Metro and it should not be expanded.

Leave comments as desired.

[video=youtube;xPJfwtssrv0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xPJfwtssrv0[/video]

KJS73

Feb 25, 2011
I rode the metro to several destinations over the weekend and really liked it. I wish there was a stop near the Colonial Zone.

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
i haven't used the metro yet but i support it. there is no other solution to the transport problem in SD.

Aug 19, 2004
There should be limited expansion (airport?) but lower population densities in the suburbs means that many locations will have to rely on an expamded bus network/complementing the metro system.

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
i think they key is an expansion that makes sense: from densely populated outskirts of SD towards the city center where many jobs are. something that will be constantly used by large numbers of people. then, in the future, a smaller, circular line connecting most important parts of the central SD so one can travel to the hospitals, government offices and malls (yes, i said malls, i am kinda embarrassed now). something a bit like london network.

fat chance with metro going all the way to the airport. sindicalistas of transporte are already pi**ed off as it is. that could only be done over their dead bodies (not a bad idea there). SD transport connection is a piece of s**t, thou. the airports i have seen in europe all have various transport services: trains, buses or cheap shuttle. in SD it's taxi or nothing, unless you have your own car.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Full Metro Project:

2266432411_4089f3d5cf_o.jpg