Rental Car v. Taxi -- HELP

rms171

Jun 28, 2013
Seeking advice on whether to rent a car when I arrive in Santiago next Thursday morning, or just suck up the cost of taxis. I shuttle about monthly between the airport and Costambar (yes I fly to Santiago and make the long drive because the flights into STI are much more time accomodating), but this trip has me stopping in Imbert for the better part of the daytime on my way north and the same on my way south back to the airport. I sense the cost of taxis v. renting a car will not be wildly different (after you consider gas and insurance for the rental). I have been driving in New York City for 20 years so I am used to aggressive driving habits, unless someone tells me the drivers along the Santiago-Puerto Plata route are worse. I only lean to a rental car because I've been told that there may not be a taxi service in Imbert that I can call late in the afternoon to get me to Costambar. I can't take a moto and a guagua isn't practical given I have luggage with me. Alternatively, if someone knows a trustworthy, English speaking (or someone patient enough to tolerate my so-so Spanish) driver would quote me an honest day rate for my first day (Oct. 10) I would love to hear from you, as the case for car v. taxi is really around my not wanting to get stuck in Imbert. I would basically be asking the driver to hang around in Imbert all day until I'm ready to leave at 5 pm or so. Sorry for the ramble and thanks for the help.

RMS

skynet

Bronze
Aug 25, 2013