Am I being scammed?/Looking for an Apt

zlj1

Aug 1, 2013
Greetings Everyone!
I have been renting an apartment in Puerto Plata for about 3 months. The first 2 months living there I was told that my rent was $175 USD ($7000 pesos a month) because the exchange rate was 40 at this location. (this place claims that there exchange rates are lower than the city rates):confused: So, I was under the impression that my rent would be "locked in" at 40 due to this being the rate when my lease commenced. However, each subsequent month my rent has gone up at a rate of 175 pesos without notice. Now I know I am not in the U.S. but anytime one enters a contractual agreement the terms and conditions are stated. In addition, if one decides to raise their prices are they not legally obligated to notify the consumers X amount of days before the rate of increase is set into effect? What if I decide that the fair market value of the product is not worth the increase and I want to take my business elsewhere? I also took it upon myself to shop around for the exchange rate for this current month (November) since this place now claims that their rate is 42.35 and I owe them (7,411.25) and that is the same rate of the city! Additionally, these people can take my USD and go into the city and profit $$ because the rate is higher. Charge me $175 *40=$7,000 go to the city and exchange my $175*42=$7,350 that is a profit of $350. (NEVER pay in USD) I know some of you may say that they are only ripping me off $8 but it is the principal at hand. Can someone please tell me how to approach this situation?

I am looking for an apartment in Puerto Plata furnished between $7,000 to 10,000 pesos per month depending on the amenities/utilities included. If you know of any genuine landlords who offer a secure quiet place within this budget please notify me. I have a 2 pound Chihuahua who will be accompanying me. Thanks in advance!!

charlise

Bronze
Nov 1, 2012