Questions about moving to Santo Domingo

Muppet

Dec 3, 2013
I will be moving to Santo Domingo in February for business. I am an engineer in my early 20s and fluent in Spanish. I have a bunch of questions and would be happy with any answers or links to where I can find relevant information.

First things first, I need to find a place to stay. I will only be there for three months and would like to find a furnished one-bedroom if possible, but I wouldnt mind living with someone else(expat or local). I have no what areas i should look at. I'd like to live somewhere that allows me to experience the culture. Having access to restaurants, bars, and clubs that people my age frequent would be ideal. It also would help if I could get to work via public tranportation or riding my bike(not sure how safe/viable). I will be working in the Zona Industrial de Haina. Any ideas based on this?

I'm a competitive cyclist and would like to be able to train and race while there. I know the Vuelta a la Independencia Nacional is held there every year. Any incite regarding riding and training around Santo Domingo or racing as an expat?

Thanks. I can't wait to get down there.

boknows

Oct 15, 2012
Figures another body in the Colonial Zone is making me look like an idiot. Maybe JMB can help me out and hook up with some college educated folk to make me look better.

Luperon

Who empowered China's crime against humanity?
Jun 28, 2004
Good Luck, be really really careful with the cycling.

AlterEgo

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
South Coast
If he's working at the Zona Industrial in Haina, he can't live in the Zona Colonial, just too far. He should be looking for housing in or around Haina.

Smart

Bronze
Jun 16, 2012