Votes: 0 0.0%

• 1 = Could be better

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Now that the El Coral, Circunvalaci?n La Romana, Circunvalaci?n San Pedro, and the San Pedro-La Romana stretch of the Del Este highways are finally completed; what do you think of the new RD-3 corridor?

Any complaints regarding the design of the roads?

The tolls?

Safety concerns (that is not related to Dominican driving habits)?

Here is the full corridor from Punta Cana to Santo Domingo in just 4 minutes! LOL

[video=youtube;cX--2R9Vx14]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cX--2R9Vx14[/video]

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
well done, just hope it will last. miesposo travels there quite often so i am glad to see roads fixed and in good condition.

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
I am delighted with it. 1:45 mins to the capital!

The only downside is not having an excuse for going to Crema (La Romana's finest eaterie) any more.

Castle

Silver
Sep 1, 2012
I think the new road is great. What I don't understand is, on the video I counted 3 toll booths without ever leaving the highway. Just like the Samana highway. Toll booths should be at the exits, not right on the highway. It 's annoying to pay three times within 1 or two hours, and it doesn't help with traffic, fuel economy, etc.
Still, it's much better than the old route. I did the Romana-Punta Cana leg the very first week after it opened (no tolls back then). I was practically the only one on the road. What a pleasant drive!

Empiric

Apr 24, 2013
Sorry if hijacking the thread.

I think RD-3 it is good to continue/worsen the negative impact on the GDP.

imh oil/gas is the worst contributor to GPD, in most countries that have no oil, wonder what the GPD for Venezuela looks like.

What about an smaller [width] road and a single or dual track [simultaneos two way]

Advantes of railroad are many, i think they are even cheaper to build than those roads

Aug 6, 2006