Gap Year in DR - Adventure Time

RonChalant

Dec 31, 2012
Planning on moving to the DR for a year vacation from "life" to finally get some adventure in my life.
I have been to the DR once for about 10 days, somehow managed to spend $3500 between my girlfriend and I, but most likely was do to trying to keep her entertained (girlfirends smh).

This time around I plan on paying 6 month rent upfront and HOPEFULLY living pretty cheaply for about 6 months (i now i said gap YEAR but i'm a broke college student)

Now the fun part...i speak NO SPANISH except for a few curse words. Was thinking about getting a place in Puerto Plata, Sosua, or Caberete, but to many hookers and seems to cliche'...i want to experience way more than just the touristic areas like the ones i mentioned. Thinking about Santiago, but seeing as I speak no spanish (though I am looking to pick it up...a bit) I feel like that might not be such a good idea. Either way as I am looking for an adventure (my 10 days there was a hell of an exp. lol) so I feel like that comes with it.

Input no matter how negative, is greatly appreciated.

Sosua is best because of the amount of englishspeaking locals and expats.

So if you dont like it here, then you move on to another place. Try to avoid paying 6months in advance, it could be you dont like it in that apt, and i dont belive you will get our deposit back.

RV429

Bronze
Apr 3, 2011
The best place for you to start is Jarabacoa. Many things to do and not as expensive as the beach towns. Enough expats to speak English to and the locals are very friendly so you can learn your espanish.

Aug 6, 2006
There are excellent Spanish language programs for English speakers available at under $80. Learn vocabulary with flashcards.