Tax Question on Non-resident company

gace777

Feb 8, 2014
Hello Everyone.

My employer asked me to relocate to the Dominican Republic about 4 1/2 years ago. I am a permanent DR resident, American Citizen and work for an American firm that does not have a physical office in the Dominican Republic. My salary is earned and paid in the USA. I have not been classified as an ex-pat and use the Dominican Republic only as my home residences. I work as a salesperson that travels to various countries primarily in Latin America, making chemical sales. After concluding a sale, all of the sales contracts come from the USA and we pay no income taxes on these sales we do not nationalize the materials in the foreign countries. We sell in other words, on an FOB basis, which means that the sales conclude once the products are loaded onto the ocean vessel in USA territory. The customer imports the materials, pays local duties and reimburses my employer for the products directly to the USA. I receive no commission on the sale. We follow the exactly the same format with our sales in the Dominican Republic.

My question is if my USA employer is liable for income taxes on the sales made in the Dominican Republic when the actual purchase is made over the internet and all legal paperwork come from the USA? Again, we do not import the materials; sell our products locally or anything of that nature. My employer is concerned that we may have to pay income taxes on Dominican sales as I do live here on the island and do not have a physical office in the country. Because of this, I am I maybe forced to relocate back to the USA, which is something that I don?t want to do. Also, can the Dominican Republic consider me as "working from the DR" because of my overseas business trips and living here at the same time?

Thank you all for helping me with this situation.

Fabio J. Guzman

DR1 Expert
Jan 1, 2002
www.drlawyer.com