Hello :)

aat84

Feb 16, 2014
I am a teacher interested in working in Central/South America and the Caribbean. I haven't ruled out the DR as a potential place to work, but I've done my research too and I'm not sure about it either. I've visited as a volunteer and been to resorts as well.

aat84

Feb 16, 2014
Thanks for the reply- are you looking for teaching jobs right now? I'm interested in the private schools in Santo Domingo and Santiago. I have 7 years experience with B.A./B.Ed and have found open positions at quite a few of these schools. I liked volunteering in the DR and I'm sure I could find lots of opportunities for that on weekends if I did find a decent teaching job.

Last edited:

aat84

Feb 16, 2014
Right- the private schools do pay better than that. It's hard to get an idea of what the schools are like but there are forums (like this one) that help a lot.

Big_Poppi2

Mar 30, 2008
Aguilas Cibae?as
www.facebook.com
Hello, aat, welcome to DR1. Also I wish you the best in your job search. I am also curious if you are Dominican or some other Latino? Just wondering and last question. If it what you love to do, and you get the job where you want to be, then there is no question of how much it pays or doesn't pay, it just depends on how much you want to go there and live and teach. Best of luck in either case and Thanks for your post, Take care, God bless
Biggs :):):#:#:Q:Q

aat84

Feb 16, 2014
Thanks :) I'm Canadian but in the US right now. It's definitely what I love to do but it's a process of finding where I want to be - geographically. The DR is a beautiful country but so are many many others in Latin America.

Riva_31

Bronze
Apr 1, 2013
San Pedro de Macoris
I loved Mexico City, but it is at altitude and I had trouble breathing since i have had triple bypass surgery may have something to do with that, but I did love teaching thee for about $1000 a month.
Der Fish