Birth Certificate for a Dominican

Heythere

Feb 24, 2005
Here is the situation. Santo Domingo area ...

A Dominican male with a birth certificate/cedula has impregnated his girlfriend-wife. The girlfriend-wife does not have a birth certificate/cedula. The mother of the girlfriend-wife also does not have a birth certificate. The father of the girlfriend-wife does have a cedula. The girlfriend-wife is the same person, not two different people.

The girlfriend-wife has a godmother who is willing to say that she is mother of the girlfriend-wife and that the girlfriend-wife was born at home.

The baby is due soon and we would like to legalize the girlfriend-wife for a number of reasons including employment, and having her name on her child's birth certificate.

What specifically is the process?

Thank you.

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
Heythere.. I am not a lawyer.. So wait for Mr Guzman to reply.

But could you just answer this,,, is the mother of your girlfriend Haitian? Was your girlfriend born in the Dominican Republic? If she is not Haitian, are there grandparents or cousins around?

As you may know, there is a process now to get proper papers for those Haitians who were born here.

It is propably not a good idea to falsify any sort of legal records, even though this may seem the easiest way,

If I were you, I would go over to the maternity hospital, at Senora de Altagracia, and ask what is needed. There is a new policy now that no babies can leave without a birth certificate. And the people who are there can explain to you what they are actually DOING .. rather than what the law says that they should be doing.

Theoretically, according to the Constitution, the fact that your wife;s FATHER is Dominican should have been enough to get her a cedula. So explain that. And see what THEY say., That is what I would do.