Moving to the DR

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kabbey80

I am moving to the DR (Punta Cana) within the next couple months. I current live in Canada and work as an administrative assistant, ap & ar clerck, bookkeeper, accountant and receptionist.
Does anyone know of any job openings in Punta Cana or where would be the best place to send my resume too?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

K

kabbey80

I would also like to ad that I am a licensed hair stylist. I would like to find a job in administration or time share sales but am open to anything at the moment.

Africaida

Gold
Jun 19, 2009
Do you have money set aside to live on in case it takes you times to find work ?

DRob

Gold
Aug 15, 2007
Kabbey,

First, welcome to DR1!

It is exceptionally difficult for someone to find a job that pays a "living wage" (by NA standards) in the DR. My advice would be to save your money to give you a substantial cushion (meaning at least two years' living expenses, which you'll realistically go through in less than half that).

You can also develop a skill set that might allow you to work in something more lucrative, like IT or teaching. Also, learning Spanish would be paramount.

I notice you're focused on Punta Cana. If you're moving because you met one of the locals while on holiday, SERIOUSLY RECONSIDER YOUR PLANS. That very seldom ends well (see the innumerable threads on the "Men are from Mars" forum).

Take your time, and be careful. Either way, good luck. :glasses:

DRob

K

kabbey80

No, I am not fluent in Spanish but I am learning it at the moment. I do have money put aside to live there, I don't have to work but I want to incorporate myself into society as much as possible. I know that the wages there don't even pay close to what I make in Canada and am fully prepared to "live like the Dominican's do".