North Coast Beaches

Chasmc

Feb 18, 2014
Hello. I have been reading these forums for a while so i thought it was time i joined in! I am looking for advice on North Coast beach towns to purchase a vacation home/land. I'd like a place more laid back than Sosua and close to great beaches. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance

Welcome to dr1!!

Rio San Juan has a really nice beach and seems laid back to me or Gaspar Hernandez. Both are pretty sleepy towns... I'm not an expert on great beaches though.
I live close to GH in Las Canas and it is very laid back, too much so for me!!

Have you thought about Samana or LT?

Chasmc

Feb 18, 2014
Thanks, i'll check those out. LT and Samana are beautiful but too far East. My wife's family lives in Loma de Cabrera so we're trying to stay closer to that direction.

texan

Apr 1, 2014
I have a house I rent in El Doral but normally drive to Sousa or Cabarete for the beach. If I want something closer I can go across the street but it is a little windy there sometimes. You can go the restaurant there and i think the 22 oz beer or 140 pesos. or you can rent a chair on the beach and go to the little store and get 22 oz beer for 100 pesos. You can also go to Blue Jack Tar and they have day beds. The sell the small 12 oz beers I think for 108 pesos and you can eat there. You do not have to be a hotel guess and it is also real close to El Doral. It is a little less windy at blue jack tar. there are some trees there.

I can go to Costambar and Cofresi also. The water in Cofresi is nicer in front of the lifestyles. it is a public beach so you can walk in front of lifestyles. but i don't think people rent chairs there so you need to bring your own chairs or sit on a towel on the sand. I have gone there with my own chairs and cooler filled with ice for drinks. ocean world terrace is nice especially if you like karaoke.