Interesting study on Dominican Haitian Relations

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
http://www.danieloneil.com/Our_Bord...ial and Ethnic Perceptions and Sentiments.pdf

Sorry that I did not see this to post before... It is 50 pages and only the result of a six week study but the author was here with the Peace Corps years ago. It is interesting to read his findings on all the differences between Haitians and Dominicans and the sources of friction.

I am still studying it but one piece I noted, which was something I noted in Dajabon as well, was that he said the children of Haitian mothers are not given national birth certificates even if the father is Dominican. I heard the same thing up in Dajabon. He reports from the South.

He also uses to number of one milliion Haitians.. perhaps two.

He found that skin color was not a major issue.

Mar 1, 2009
The Dominican Republic of before is OVER.
Golo, once said it in a prior post of his. I REFUSED to believe it. There is a Dominican Blogger called Manuel Miranda, formerly a lawyer in DR. Now living in Venezuela (VIVA CHAVEZ)!
He has taken the Naturalization law and the TC's ruling apart and his analysis is dire. He shows and proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that the NGO manueverings, international "indignation", intentional SMEAR TACTICS (NAZI's) and threats of sanctions "a la Cuba" or "IRAN, slanderous press coverages (haitians being lynched, their beautiful hair being straightened, the confiscation of their passports and documents so they COULDN'T GO BACK TO HAITI). The lies and distortions went on and on and on.

All of that nonsense now is over now, because the law has been passed and ALL Haitians have to do now is get a paper napkin, write the date of their birth and say I was born in DR or I have lived in DR forever. Even though they might have been in the country 2 minutes. Get said paper stamped by the competent authority and SHAZAM they are Dominicans.