Is this the beginning of the Haitian tourism threat to the DR?

Is this the beginning of a major competitor for the Dominican tourism industry?

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Saw this in The Wall Street Journal.

Haiti Pitches a Ritzy Oasis on an Island of Misfortune
Nation Needs $350 Million to Develop 16-Mile Stretch

BN-EU156_0930ha_G_20140930134912.jpg

A rendering of the proposed resort development at C?t? de Fer, Haiti. Ministry of Tourism of Haiti

The Haitian government is seeking partners for a seemingly daunting task: building a world-class resort destination in one of the world's poorest countries.

This nation of 10 million people has chosen a 16-mile stretch of largely unoccupied beachfront on the country's southern coast, known as C?t? de Fer, on which to build. Haiti's Ministry of Tourism estimates it will need up to $350 million in private investment to develop the area, including infrastructure such as utilities, a sewer system and roads.

The plan calls for a new international airport, an 18-hole golf course and 4,000 new hotel rooms, which would be a 50% increase from the island's current room count.

The government is aiming for the first phase of the plan, which includes four hotels and the airport with its own passport station, to open by 2017.

BN-EU159_0930ha_D_20140930135123.jpg

Tourism minister Stephanie Villedrouin Balmir is courting investors. Keith Bedford for the Wall Street Journal

Read the full article (the article also includes a podcast titled "WSJ RADIO" where Crag Karmin discusses the Haitian tourism project): Haiti Pitches a Ritzy Oasis on an Island of Misfortune - WSJ

What are some advantages/disadvantages Haiti has in order to develop its tourism industry to rival the DR's?

BTW, Grupo Puntacana (aka Rainieri, Keel, Iglesias, etc) has agreed to build and manage the airport that will be built in the new Haitian tourist project.

chic

Silver
Nov 20, 2013