Coming to Sosua Soon

ScriptySandy

Nov 26, 2014
Hi all...

I am new to this page ... very happy to have found you!

I will be travelling to the DR and staying in Sosua from Dec 8 - Jan 9. I didn't know much of anything about the town before I booked other than it had a great beach and has some very well priced condos! I decided I'd like to come and see the area and look at some properties with an eye to my semi-retirement in a few years. Once I had my tickets and accommodation booked I started to do some more research. Now I am a bit worried.

I am staying at a place right on the main street next door to City Lights nightclub over a bakery. The place and the owners seem lovely and I am not concerned about that. What I am concerned with is my safety as a single woman in the town, especially after dark. I travel a lot, especially to the Caribbean so am aware of basic safety precautions (no jewelry, purse in front, aware of surroundings etc) but I am wondering if you can tell me if I will be safe in Sosua after dark.

I am an admitted beach bum and love to lay on a chaize all day and read, swim, etc. I have read that the beach vendors are many and a constant bother. Is that true? I am exhausted from 5 months of 14 hour work days and am really looking forward to some serious R&R on the beach and being constantly harassed by vendors will not be welcome. Is there anything one can do to deter them? Earphones? Book? Sleeping??

Also, as a single traveller, I would love to be able to meet up with some people there - maybe expats from wherever... friendly types. I'm not much of a drinker or partier, but I love to sit with people over a drink and some food and get to know them and hear their stories, maybe play a game of Mexican Train. Are there places whereI can go and meet friendly people?